Concerto for Piano, Winds & Percussion


Concerto for Piano, Winds & Percussion


Gillingham, David R.

Item Code:
C. Alan Publications

Piano Feature

Written with the virtuoso in mind, the Concerto for Piano, Winds & Percussion is perfect for the modern ensemble. The first movement exudes an urgency scored in the rhythms and harmonies throughout, while the second movement, Elegy, reflects on the memory of a friend. The final movement barrels along with spirit and drive, utilizing mixed meter and a full compliment of percussion to bring you to the breathtaking conclusion.

Grade Level: 5
Copyright: 2005
Number of Players: Standard + 1
Duration: 17:00

Listen to Recordings


Solo Piano

Flute 1/2
Oboe 1/2
Bassoon 1/2
Clarinet in A 1
Clarinet in A 2/3
Bass Clarinet
Alto Saxophone 1/2
Tenor Saxophone
Baritone Saxophone

Trumpet in C 1
Trumpet in C 2/3
Horn in F 1/2
Horn in F 3/4
Trombone 1/2
Bass Trombone

Timpani (4 drums)
Percussion 1 (Crotales, Bells, Xylophone)
Percussion 2 (Vibraphone)
Percussion 3 (Marimba)
Percussion 4 (Marimba)
Percussion 5 (Marimba)
Percussion 6 (5-octave Marimba)
Percussion 7 (Suspended Cymbal, Crash Cymbals, Chimes, Triangle, Tam-Tam, Tuned Gong (A), Tambourine, Brake Drum, Large Bass Drum)
Percussion 8 (Hi-Hat, 3 Concert Toms, Small Bass Drum, Field Drum, Suspended Cymbal, Triangle)